Assault

Degrees of Assault

There are three major forms of assault charges, differentiated by degrees. Of the three, the least serious is third degree assault, and the most serious is first degree assault.

First Degree Assault

First-degree assault is the most serious charge in Connecticut. It is classified as a Class B felony and the penalties can be as high as a $15,000 fine and 20 years in prison. Please note that in Connecticut, if you are convicted of first-degree assault, you face a mandatory minimum of five years in prison. First-degree assault carries such serious penalties because it involves:

  • Using a gun or other deadly weapon to cause injury.
  • The intention to cause someone serious bodily harm.
  • Aggressive behavior resulting in death.
  • Serious injury to another person.

 

Second Degree Assault

Second-degree assault is also a felony, but unlike first degree assault, second degree assault is a Class D felony, making it less serious. If charged with second degree assault, you are accused of:

  • Intending to cause serious harm to someone else.
  • Causing someone else serious harm.
  • Using a deadly weapon (other than a firearm) to hurt someone.
  • Drugging someone.

Third Degree Assault

Of the three degrees of assault, third degree is the least serious. It is a Class A misdemeanor, and you will be charged with it if:

  • You intend to hurt someone.
  • You do hurt someone.
  • You hurt someone with a weapon.

 

In addition to these degrees of assault, there are assault crimes such as assault on a Department of Corrections Worker, Assault on an Elderly Person, Assault with a Motor Vehicle, etc.

Assault in the First Degree (Class B Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-20 years and a fine of up to $15,000.
  • Assault with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument in the first degree will result in a prison sentence of 5-20 years with 5 years mandatory or 10-20 years in prison with 10 mandatory if the victim is under 10 years old.

Assault in the Second Degree (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1 to 5 years.
  • Fine of up to $5,000.

Assault in the Second Degree with a Firearm (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-5 years with mandatory 1 year in jail.
  • Fine of up to $5,000

Sentencing

The following crimes fall under the category of assault; however, they have different consequences. Here is a comprehensive list of punishments for each type of assault crime.

Assault of an Elderly, Blind, Disabled or Pregnant Person or a Person with Intellectual Disability in the Second Degree with a Firearm (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-5 years, 3 years of which can’t be reduced or suspended.
  • Fine of up to $5,000.

Assault of an Elderly, Blind, Disabled or Pregnant Person or a Person with Intellectual Disability in the Second Degree (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-5 years, with 2 years of the sentence not being able to be reduced or suspended.
  • Fine of up to $5,000.

Assault on a Pregnant Person Resulting in Termination of Pregnancy (Class A Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 10-25 years.
  • A fine of up to $20,000.

Assault of an Elderly, Blind, Disabled or Pregnant Person or a Person with Intellectual Disability in the Third Degree

  • Prison sentence of which one year cannot be reduced or suspended.
  • Fine of up to $2,000.

Assault on a DOC Worker (Class B Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-20 years.
  • Prison sentence of 5-20 years if conducted with a deadly weapon.
  • This new sentence is consecutive to any sentence the defendant was currently serving.
  • Fine of up to $15,000.

Assault in the Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle (Class D Felony)

  • Suspension of the driver’s license for one year.
  • Prison sentence of up to 1 year.
  • Fine of up to $5,000.

Assault in the Third Degree (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Prison sentence of up to a year.
  • Fine of up to $2,000.

For assistance with your case, or to have your questions answered, please feel free to contact us.